Academic Staff

Full-Time and Partial-Load Employees

The Colleges Collective Bargaining Act, 2008, designates the CEC as the bargaining agent for Ontario’s colleges in negotiation with the union (OPSEU) representing academic employees within the colleges.

Employer/Employee Relations Committee
(EERC – Academic Employees)

This committee is established under the terms of the Collective Agreement to facilitate communications between management and the union at a provincial level during the term of the agreement. 

Joint Educational Qualifications Subcommittee (JEQS)

JEQS is a provincial joint union-management committee established under the Academic Collective Agreement. The overall role of the committee is to assess further formal educational qualifications for the purpose of maximum salary level identification under the salary scale. JEQS is not responsible for the determination of starting salaries and progression within the salary scale. Right-click here to download and save the application form.  

Part-Time and Sessional Employees

Part-time and sessional employees are not currently unionized.  However, the Colleges Collective Bargaining Act, 2008, has been amended to permit part-time employees in the college system to organize.