Academic Bargaining 2024

About the CEC

The College Employer Council (CEC) is the government-mandated bargaining agent for the 24 Ontario publicly-funded colleges in negotiating collective agreements with unionized staff. This means the CEC negotiates on behalf of the Colleges at the bargaining table.

About the Union

Currently, there are three unionized groups in the College sector.
These unionized groups are represented by the Ontario Public Service Employee Union (OPSEU).

The CEC and OPSEU bargaining teams also have College employees that join the bargaining teams for the course of negotiations. 

The three unionized groups in the College sector are:

CAAT-A: Academic Employees CAAT-FTSS: Full-time Support Staff CAAT-PTSS: Part-time Support Staff
Full-time and partial-load instructors, professors, librarians, and counsellors. Examples of members in this group include technicians and technologists, clerks, assistants, analysts, tutors, and facilities operators. Individuals who regularly work 24 hours per week or less in positions or classifications such as office, clerical, technical, health care, maintenance, building service, shipping,
transportation, cafeteria, and nursery staff.
The current collective agreement expires September 30, 2024

The current collective agreement expires on August 31, 2025

The current collective agreement expires on January 31, 2024